Please note! This is an archived version of the previous North Burnett Regional Council website at July 2017. Some information is outdated and some functionality may not work correctly. Please visit the new North Burnett Regional Council website for the latest information.
North Burnett - Naturally Beautiful...
Beautiful Burnett River Biggenden Sunrise Burnett River from Mc Connell Lookout Cania Gorge Eidsvold Mingo Crossing Mount Perry Mt Perry Gold Mine Mundubbera to Gayndah and Gooroolba Mundubbera Paradise Dam

Your Council

A brief history

The North Burnett Regional Council (NBRC) came into existence on the 15th March 2008 following the Queensland local government reform process. This resulted in the amalgamation of six shires:

  • Biggenden
  • Eidsvold
  • Gayndah
  • Monto
  • Mount Perry
  • Mundubbera

The elected Council is the law making body and consists of the Mayor and six Councillors. The administration of the Council is headed by the Chief Executive Officer.

To assist with the delivery of services to the community, the administrative operations are divided into areas, each with specific areas of responsibility. For further information on these services and their structure, go to About Council.

The administrative practices of the North Burnett Regional Council are governed mainly by the Local Government Act 1993 and the Local Government Finance Standard 2005. Under this legislation, Council is required to prepare:

  • Every four years a Corporate Plan
  • Annually an Operational Plan and Budget
  • Annually Annual Report
  • Three monthly Performance Assessments

Council's published documents are available on our Publications page.

As part of the formation of our new Council region, the NBRC adopted a new logo in mid 2008. The logo symbolises our unique environment, encompassing the mountains, rivers and sunshine.

The North Burnett Regional Council currently delivers its services to the community under the following structure:

Corporate Structure